50423736842_58669583b0_k.jpg

About Us

Quality news, where you want it, when you want it.

The Flyer student newspaper has been serving the Salisbury University community for over 45 years. Standing as an opportunity for students of all interests, it is our goal to enlighten and inform the roughly 10,000 students, faculty and staff of SU.

 

We aim to not only deliver reliable news and media, but foster an atmosphere of student discussion, advocacy and involvement.

The Flyer can be picked up in all major academic and campus buildings of Salisbury University, as well in the Entrepreneur Center in downtown Salisbury. The Flyer is free.

Letters to the Editor are welcomed and encouraged. Students, please include your name and class. Faculty members, please include your department. Letters should be no longer than 400 words. The Flyer reserves the right to refrain from publishing any text. Please email your letter as an attachment to Olivia Ballmann, editor-in-chief, at oballmann1@gulls.salisbury.edu, or in person at Office 125-M in GSU’s Student Activities Center. Deadline for submission is Friday at 5 p.m. Please email letters subjected “Letter to the Editor.”

The Flyer is published once monthly during regular school semesters. Each print is produced by the Delaware Printing Company of Dover, Del. A total of 800 copies are distributed.

The Flyer strives for accuracy and corrects its errors immediately. If you believe The Flyer has printed a factual error, please email us.

Interested in joining? Students of Salisbury University, regardless of major or class, are welcome to join The Flyer. As a student organization, we are committed to providing equal opportunity involvement to better the SU student experience. Join us at our weekly meetings to get started.

FALL 2021: Sundays, 7 p.m., Perdue 277.

If you are new to journalism, we kindly ask that you familiarize yourself with AP style and formatting. But don’t worry, we’ve made it pretty straightforward. Please consult the link to download a copy of our introductory AP style guide.

To begin the application process, please download and complete a copy of our Application for Employment. Follow all directions as advised and submit your completed copy on time to a proper staff member.

Staff & Office Hours

Editor-in-Chief

Olivia Ballmann

oballmann1@gulls.salisbury.edu

Email for appointment.

Layout & Graphics Editor

Carleigh Stokes

cstokes3@gulls.salisbury.edu

MW 4-6 PM

Ad Manager

Livi Sansom

osansom1@gulls.salisbury.edu

M 1:30-4:30 PM

News Editor

Jakob Todd

jtodd7@gulls.salisbury.edu

M 5:50-6:30 PM, W 2-4 PM & F 2-3 PM

Editorial Editor

Jacob Beaver

jbeaver2@gulls.salisbury.edu

MW 3-4 PM & TTh 12:30-1:30PM

Gull Life Editor

Jack Fiechtner

jfiechtner1@gulls.salisbury.edu

TTh 11-1 PM

Sports Editor

Tommy West

twest7@gulls.salisbury.edu

MW 3-4 PM, TTh 2-3 PM

Photo Editor

Brad Boardman

bboardman1@gulls.salisbury.edu

M 12:30-3 PM & W 11-12:30 PM

Copy Editor

Kirsten Stillwell

kstillwell1@gulls.salisbury.edu

Email for appointment.